McArthur Fire Protection District




  • 2007 Rosenbauer/International Type 2 4x4 Wildland Urban Interface Fire Engine 

  • 2018 Peterbilt Water Tender

  • 2018 Ford 4x4 Patrol Truck 

  • 2019 Ford 4x4 Rescue Truck

  • 2018 Polaris Ranger UTV



  • 1989 Pierce Type 1 4x2 Fire Engine 

  • 2009 Chevy 4x4 Patrol Truck 



  • 2001 BME/International Type 1 4x2 Wildland Urban Interface Fire Engine 

  • 1975 Chevy 4x4 Patrol Truck 




The McArthur Fire Protection District (MFPD) was established in 1943 by a small group of concerned citizens to protect the lives and property of our community.  The District encompasses 30,000 acres and serves an estimated 2,000 people.  However, our service area (where we routinely respond to emergencies) covers approximately 5 times that area, and includes portions of Modoc, Lassen, and Shasta counties, and the Modoc and Lassen National Forests. 

Volunteers Needed

Our organization relies entirely on volunteers, and we encourage anyone with a good attitude to apply.  Applicants for firefighting positions must be of sound judgement, and prepared for a mentally and physically strenuous job;

however we also accept volunteers for non-emergency support positions. 

All applicants must be drug-free, and planning to live in the area for the foreseeable future.  


Firefighter candidate must be willing to complete training in structural and wildland firefighting, and professional CPR.  We will also consider applicants who are only interested in rescue and emergency medical service (i.e. no direct firefighting), and applicants for water tender operator.  Volunteers are expected to attend monthly training and business meetings,

twice yearly weekend trainings, and respond to emergency calls.


Volunteers receive all necessary training and equipment to become firefighters.  We also actively encourage continuing education, and will generally cover the cost for volunteers to attend commercial driving, firefighting,

and emergency medical trainings.

Fire Chief:  Jeffrey J. Oldson 
Assistant Chief:  Jonathon Sims
Board Members:  Joseph M. Bruce (President), Michael J. Pasternak, Allen A. Albaugh



530-257-BURN (2876) in Lassen Co.

530-224-8777 or 1-800-411-8728 in Shasta Co.

PO Box 670

McArthur CA 96056

Tel: (530) 336-5026

Thanks for submitting!